Take Two Records

Album Details

Andrews Sisters
At The Microphone

Few female trios rivaled the popularity of The Andrews Sisters during the 1940's. This collection brings performances by this outstanding group selected from radio appearances of the period. The broadcasts are delightfully spontaneous, carefree and fun, especially when compared to the trio's more structured studio sessions.

Many of the selections included here are either period hits, such as Buttons and Bows, Personality and On The Atcheson, Topeka and The Santa Fe or revived standards like Blue Skies and I Don't Know Why — all performed to perfection. Some selections include pleasing duets with crooners Bob Crosby or Curt Massey.

Most of the songs included on this CD were derived from two separate radio series — Club 15 hosted by Bob Crosby and the Nash Kelvinator Musical Showroom starring Curt Massey. These shows included several numbers that The Andrews Sisters never recorded commercially. However, the final number on the set is a rousing version of their major hit I'll Be With You In Apple Blossom Time with orchestra, chorus and Massey.
  Track Song Title Date Time
1 On The Atcheson, Topeka And The Santa Fe 1948 2:18
2 Personality 1948 2:35
3 If I Could Be With You (One Hour Tonight) 1948 2:08
4 Don`t Rob Another Man`s Castle 1948 1:52
5 Buttons and Bows 1948 2:18
6 Someone Like You 1948 1:54
7 Everywhere You Go 1948 1:56
8 I Don`t Know Why 1948 2:24
9 Malaguena 1948 2:58
10 Be My Baby Bumble Bee 1948 2:09
11 Ghost Riders In The Sky 1948 3:04
12 Pennies From Heaven 1948 2:23
13 I Get Up Every Morning 1948 2:06
14 Gotta Be This Or That 1948 2:36
15 Blue Skies 1948 1:46
16 Ain`t We Got Fun 1948 2:27
17 Cruising Down The River (On A Sunday Afternoon) 1948 2:23
18 Let A Smile Be Your Umbrella 1948 2:03
19 Bei Mir Bist Du Schoen 1948 2:04
20 (I`ll Be With You) In Apple Blossom Time 1948 3:01
album cover   Previous Album Next Album   album cover