Take Two Records

Album Details

Gene Austin
A Time To Relax

Gene Austin's recording career, which spanned some 35 years, started in 1924. But from 1927 for nearly a decade Austin was one of the nation's leading recording artists. In September of that year he chanced to record a song called My Blue Heaven that became a million-seller. It was a spectacular success for that time and easily equivalent to a platinum recording today.

Born Eugene Lucas in Texas in 1900, Austin grew up in Louisiana where he acquired an interest in country Blues. At age 19 he saw action in World War I and after his service entered the University of Maryland to study dentistry, then law--but his love of music won out and he went into vaudeville doing his act with Roy Bergere. In 1924 Austin made a number of country records with George Reneau, "The Blind Musician of the Smokey Mountains", then signed with the Victor label focusing on pop tunes of the day.

His first hit for Victor was a 1925 recording of When My Sugar Walks Down the Street which he co-wrote. From the late 20s through the 30s Austin covered the major hit tunes of the period, many of which are included in this set. His warm, soothing tenor voice with a touch of southern dialect won him a very loyal following for live performances as well as recordings.
  Track Song Title Date Time
1 When My Sugar Walks Down The Street 1925 2:40
2 Nothin` 1927 3:02
3 My Blue Heaven 1927 3:32
4 She`s Funny That Way 1928 3:11
5 St. Louis Blues 1928 3:24
6 A Garden In The Rain 1929 3:14
7 I`ve Got A Feeling I`m Falling 1929 2:50
8 My Fate Is In Your Hands 1929 3:04
9 Rollin` Down The River 1930 2:40
10 Ain`t Misbehavin` 1929 3:02
11 St. James Infirmary 1930 2:48
12 If I Could Be With You 1930 2:32
13 Crying Myself To Sleep 1930 2:56
14 Under A Texas Moon 1930 2:53
15 Now You`re In My Arms 1931 3:21
16 Guilty 1931 2:56
17 Love Letters In The Sand 1931 2:57
18 Jam House Blues 1933 3:18
19 Did You Ever See A Dream Walking 1933 2:50
20 When I`m With You 1936 3:03
album cover   Previous Album Next Album   album cover