Take Two Records

Album Details

Sophie Tucker
Jazz Age Hot Mamma

A young Sophie Abuza honed her singing skills by entertaining patrons at her family's cafe in Hartford, Connecticut. A brief marriage to Louis Tuck with the later addition of "er" to her surname provided Sophie Tucker with one of the best-known stage names of the day.

Tucker's impressive career started in the 1900s Ragtime era, thrived through the Jazz age and swing era and continued nearly to the time of her death in 1966. Similarly, a lengthy recording career started in 1910 with cylinder records and continued into the LP period as late as 1960.

Our release includes songs recorded from 1922 to 1929, a time in which Tucker was a vaudeville headliner (today we use the term "superstar") and celebrity nightclub performer. Tucker's theme song over these years was Some Of These Days. The first six titles, from the early 1920s, were recorded acoustically (i.e., without a microphone. That means literally shouting into a horn) a process for which her powerful voice excelled. A good example is Papa Better Watch Your Step. Of special interest are the final six numbers in this collection which are from the soundtrack disc of her 1929 movie Honky Tonk. A poignant ballad written for this lost film is I'm Doing What I'm Doing For Love. Fortunately, she can still be heard if not seen in this film.
  Track Song Title Date Time
1 Complainin` (It`s Human Nature to Complain) 1922 2:59
2 You`ve Got To See Mamma Ev`ry Night 1923 2:40
3 Papa Better Watch Your Step 1923 2:45
4 I`ve Got A Cross-Eyed Papa 1933 2:29
5 Seven Or Eleven (My Dixie Pair O` Dice) 1923 2:57
6 The One I Love (Belongs to Somebody Else) 1924 3:05
7 Some Of These Days 1926 2:53
8 I Ain`t Got Nobody 1927 2:27
9 After You`ve Gone 1927 2:47
10 There`ll Be Some Changes Made 1927 2:56
11 What'll You Do? 1927 2:44
12 Blue River 1927 3:03
13 My Pet 1928 3:00
14 Moanin` Low 1929 2:54
15 I`m The Last Of The Red Hot Mammas 1929 1:51
16 He`s A Good Man To Have Around 1929 2:55
17 I Don`t Want To Get Thin 1929 2:37
18 Take Off The Mask And Be Yourself 1929 2:00
19 I`m Doing What I`m Doing For Love 1929 2:44
20 I`m Feathering A Nest 1929 2:21
album cover   Previous Album Next Album   album cover